Dutch educational system

In the Netherlands, all children enroll in primary education from 4 to 12 years. After primary education there are three kinds of secondary education:

  • Pre-university education (vwo)
  • Senior secondary general education (havo)
  • Preparatory secondary vocational education (vmbo)

After secondary education there are three kinds of further education:

  • Academic higher education (wo)
  • Higher professional education (hbo)
  • Senior secondary vocational education (mbo)

Read the complete description


In the diagram of the Dutch educational system, arrows indicate how a student can transfer horizontally or vertically, for example from hbo to wo or from vmbo through mbo to hbo. This diagram is also available in Arabic, Farsi and French.